Viimeinen oppitunti! / The last lesson!

Yesterday was the last YKI prep lesson for me as I’ll be in England next Friday when the real final lesson is held.

The lesson began with a student teacher asking us to complete a questionnaire for her…on Finnish grammar. We had to select to correct option for each sentence of a paragraph of text. A couple of examples:

Asuin / Olen asunut Suomessa jo neljä vuotta.

Isi soitti / on soitellut eilen.

Each time we had to chose between the perfecki (perfect) and imperfekti (past) tenses. I did this ‘by feel’ – what felt like the right choice to me. If I have ever studied when and how to use perfekti / imperfekti I have no memory of it! The student teacher gave us the answers afterwards and I got about 60-70% correct so I guess my instincts are ok!

I just looked up perfekti and imperfekti on The Finnish Teacher blog which explains the Finnish aikamuodot (tenses) very simply and clearly and shows how to change all verb types into their imperfekti and perfekti forms. If, like me, you struggle with the rules of grammar and/or dislike tackling grammar I really recommend you check this blog out! 

Perfekti (the perfect tense) is used: “when we are talking about something that started in the past and is ongoing or if something happened in the past and is finished but it’s not important when exactly it happened.”

eg (my own) Minä olen lukenut The Finnish Teacher blogia.

Imperfekti (the past tense) is used: “when something happened in the past and it’s finished.” or when you mention a specific time when something happened

eg Minä menin pubiin eilen.

We then had to write explanations of why we had chosen imperfekti / perfekti…in Finnish. It was difficult to express my reasoning (or lack thereof) in Finnish but it did make me stop and think about the answers I had chosen and why I chose them which made it a useful exercise. We then had to write a few sentences (again in Finnish) about our äidinkieli (mother tongue) and how it’s use of tenses differ or is similar to Finnish! Hui!!

We then began the lesson proper by going through the answers to last week’s tekstin ymmärtäminen homework which was based on short uutisia (news) texts and one tiedote (notice). I got 42/50 or 84% 😀 Although I’m pretty sure this was a lot easier than our previous tekstin ymmärtäminen homeworks as the texts were all very short (only 1/4 page each).

Ope then gave us some vinnkiä (tips) about the email writing part of the kirjoittaminen part of the test. These were based on writing emails about attending a Finnish course.

  • You can copy words and sentences from the introduction / instructions for writing the email. For example if the instructions say “Sinä näit ilmoitus lehdissä…” You could begin your email with  “Näin ilmoituksen lehdessä”
  • If the instructions ask you to express your hopes (toiveita) for something you need to use the konditionaali case eg “Toivotaan että…” 
  • If you need to talk about your skills (taidot) or abilities you can write ” X:sen taitoni ovat Y:t” eg “puhumisen taitoni ovat huonot” (my speaking skills are poor)
  • If you want to register for / give notice about something (eg attending Finnish course) you can say “Ilmoittautuisin kursille” or “Haluisin ilmoittautua kursille” Again here you should use konditionaali case.
  • If you can’t attend something you can write “En pääse…koska…”
  • If youhave asked questions in our email you can end it by writing “Odotan vastaustanne. Terveisin, …”

We then did a puheen ymmärtäminen mock exam based on mainoksia (adverts), uutisia (news) and kertomuksia (report or story, in this case it was a guy talking abuot his job) and checked the answers. I scored 33/42 or 78% so I passed 😀

Next week when I am away the class will focus on the puhuminen part of the test especially the quick fire answers and do another listening exam. Therefore I will try to practice the speaking part of the test. There are lots of examples I can use to practice at the bottom of Random Finnish Lessons blog post about verbs you should know for the YKI test.

Leave a Reply

